GUIDE TO GLUTEN FREE GINGER BEERS
Gluten-free may seem the en-vogue dietary restriction of the health set, but the fact of the matter is that for any of those suffering from a true gluten-related condition (like celiac disease), the consumption of gluten can present no shortage of discomfort or even health problems.
In an age of increasingly adventurous cocktail menus, it can be harder for even the most vigorous person to avoid gluten on a drinks menu, luckily for you, we have great news when it comes to enjoying your favorite cocktail. A Moscow Mule, when properly prepared, is almost certainly gluten-free!
Because vodka, ginger root and limes are (unless contaminated) always gluten-free, the devil in the detail here is the ginger beer. The fact of the matter is that a few ginger beers these days forgo a few non-gluten ingredients for corn or wheat used in the fermenting process. Traditionally these brands are easy to spot as they are tend to skew towards a grocery store ‘Generally your higher-quality drinking establishments of grocers wouldn’t stock there, but with the huge surge in ginger beer (and the Mule’s) popularity, people are focussing on profit over product, creating their own ‘house brand’ with no indication of history or how it’s made. A true ginger beer made only with sugar, ginger and water will prove no problems to those with a squirmish gut…
Here’s a list of a few that are 100% gluten-free:
- Reed’s Ginger Beer
- Old Jamaica
- Bundaberg Ginger Beer
- Fentiman’s Ginger Beer
You can also find an assortment of pre-mixed alcoholic Ginger Beers in our previous article.
Though it’s not hard to find the right gluten-free ginger beer to make your favorite drink, the use of ginger ale will do in a pinch, and because of the way it’s produced, means that your drink will always be gluten-free. All major brands of ginger ale that bars stock are gluten-free, so though it won’t quite be the same, your gut (if not your tastebuds) can rest easy while enjoying one.
So in the end, a true Moscow Mule, made properly in copper mugs and with a high-quality ginger beer is totally gluten-free. And from what most gluten-intolerant people say, a single mule probably won’t have enough irritating gluten it to ruin your evening.
If you’re curious about the provenance of the ginger beer they’re using, just ask to see the bottle and give it a quick scan for either ‘corn’ or ‘wheat’ used in the brewing process. Otherwise, it’s happy muling for you!
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Alcoholic Ginger Beer gluten free?
Alcoholic ginger beer is gluten free as long as ingredients in the Beer are gluten free. Ginger root, vodka and limes are all gluten free!
Is there gluten in a Moscow Mule?
There is no gluten in a Moscow Mule as long as your Ginger Beer is also gluten free.